Difference between revisions of "1870: Emoji Movie Reviews"

Explain xkcd: It's 'cause you're dumb.
Jump to: navigation, search
(Explanation: More minor fixes)
(Explanation: A little more on the near-miss for 0% on RottenTomatoes)
Line 12: Line 12:
 
This comic discusses ''{{w|The Emoji Movie}}'' between the cynical, Internet-equipped point of view of Megan and Cueball's language-enthusiasm. They ultimately agree the movie is bad.
 
This comic discusses ''{{w|The Emoji Movie}}'' between the cynical, Internet-equipped point of view of Megan and Cueball's language-enthusiasm. They ultimately agree the movie is bad.
  
''{{w|The Emoji Movie}}'' was released to theaters in July 2017, and received nearly universally-negative reviews.  It is particularly notable for having just ''barely'' avoided a 0% rating on review aggregator site [http://www.RottenTomatoes.com RottenTomatoes]. Many critics of movie point to superficial problems like the subject matter and the product placement. Here, that train of thought is articulated a bit more, and ultimately it's argued that the real reason the film is bad is because the creators cashed in on a trend without doing any research into it.
+
''{{w|The Emoji Movie}}'' was released to theaters in July 2017, and received nearly universally-negative reviews.  It is particularly notable for having just ''barely'' avoided a 0% rating on review aggregator site [http://www.RottenTomatoes.com Rotten Tomatoes], which would have classified it there as one of the worst movies of all time. Many critics of movie point to superficial problems like the subject matter and the product placement. Here, that train of thought is articulated a bit more, and ultimately it's argued that the real reason the film is bad is because the creators cashed in on a trend without doing any research into it.
  
 
When [[Megan]] first mentions movie's negative reviews, [[Cueball]] initially accuses the audience of being overly judgmental of the subject matter. He further expresses his fondness for {{w|emoji}} as an interesting and quirky part of language.
 
When [[Megan]] first mentions movie's negative reviews, [[Cueball]] initially accuses the audience of being overly judgmental of the subject matter. He further expresses his fondness for {{w|emoji}} as an interesting and quirky part of language.

Revision as of 05:47, 2 August 2017

Emoji Movie Reviews
There's this idea that emoji are bad for communication because they replace ambiguity and nuance with a limited set of preselected emotions, but it doesn't really survive a collision with real-world usage of the thinking face or upside-down smiley.
Title text: There's this idea that emoji are bad for communication because they replace ambiguity and nuance with a limited set of preselected emotions, but it doesn't really survive a collision with real-world usage of the thinking face or upside-down smiley.

Explanation

Ambox notice.png This explanation may be incomplete or incorrect: Need to discuss title text and the signifigance of Wikipedia plotpoint and why it's ridiculous.
If you can address this issue, please edit the page! Thanks.

This comic discusses The Emoji Movie between the cynical, Internet-equipped point of view of Megan and Cueball's language-enthusiasm. They ultimately agree the movie is bad.

The Emoji Movie was released to theaters in July 2017, and received nearly universally-negative reviews. It is particularly notable for having just barely avoided a 0% rating on review aggregator site Rotten Tomatoes, which would have classified it there as one of the worst movies of all time. Many critics of movie point to superficial problems like the subject matter and the product placement. Here, that train of thought is articulated a bit more, and ultimately it's argued that the real reason the film is bad is because the creators cashed in on a trend without doing any research into it.

When Megan first mentions movie's negative reviews, Cueball initially accuses the audience of being overly judgmental of the subject matter. He further expresses his fondness for emoji as an interesting and quirky part of language.

Cueball offers an early defense of The Emoji Movie by comparing it to The Lego Movie, which – despite effectively being an entire movie of product placement for Lego – received generally positive reviews.

They start talking about a "Meh" emoji, who is the main character of the movie. The idea of "meh" as an emoji is actually ambiguous, as various emoji can be used to describe being unimpressed or neutral towards something. As given in examples from comic those are 😒 (U+1F612 Unamused face), 😐 (U+1F610 Neutral face) or 😕 (U+1F615 Confused face). The selection of a less identifiable emoji for the leading role also contrasts with the fact that the movie also features more iconic emojis.

Megan mentions that one of the attempted jokes in the film is a room full of emojis that are unpopular. Bizarrely, the eggplant emoji (🍆, U+1F346 Aubergine) is featured among them. This is a clear sign that the creative team in charge of this movie had limited first-hand experience with SMS messaging; as any millennial will tell you, the 🍆 is a sly stand-in for a penis, due to its similar shape. [1] Cueball's reaction is to ask whether the creators of this film might be trying to be controversial on purpose, as it is popular lately (like for example in film Sausage Party)

The line from the Wikipedia plot summary was a direct quote from Wikipedia. The sentence was introduced to the article by editor Voicebox64 on July 28, 2017, and the exact phrasing quoted in the comic came from editor SubZeroSilver on July 30.

Transcript

Ambox notice.png This explanation may be incomplete or incorrect: Could someone check if the emojis are all correct? Thanks in advance.
If you can address this issue, please edit the page! Thanks.
[Cueball and Megan are walking. Megan is checking her phone.]
Megan: Reviews for The Emoji Movie are... not good.
Cueball: People are just snobs about emoji. I like them! Language is cool and weird.
[Zoom on Megan; Cueball is outside of the frame.]
Megan: It's apparently 80% product placement.
Cueball (off-screen): Whatever. So was The Lego Movie, and I liked that.
[Zoom out; Cueball looks at Megan's phone.]
Megan: It features the emoji we all know and love - with a "Meh" emoji in the starring role!
Cueball: Wait... a "Meh" emoji?
Megan: I wondered about that, too; the others are all familiar. Do they mean 😒? Or 😐 or 😕?
Cueball: That's a little confusing...
[Zoom in on both heads; Megan is looking at her phone.]
Megan: There's a joke in the movie about the "emoji that no one uses" that includes the eggplant emoji.
Cueball: ...was that on purpose? Or did they not run the script by enough people?
[Megan and Cueball continue walking.]
Megan: Here's a line from the Wikipedia plot summary:
Megan: Gene and Hi-5 come to a piracy app where they meet the hacker emoji Jailbreak, who wants to reach Dropbox so that she can live in the cloud.
Cueball: Okay.
Cueball: It's possible this movie is bad.


comment.png add a comment! ⋅ comment.png add a topic (use sparingly)! ⋅ Icons-mini-action refresh blue.gif refresh comments!

Discussion

There are many ways that a movie can be bad. It could have uninteresting characters, a bad plot, stupid dialogue, poor filming etc. Very likely the Emoji movie suffers from all of these problems. I should add that Jar Jar Binks from Star Wars fame was widely hated by anyone over 8 years old but my 5-year-old loved him. Could the same thing be true for Emojis? Rtanenbaum (talk) 18:00, 31 July 2017 (UTC)

So, similar to the minions movie series? 20:00, 31 July 2017 (UTC)141.101.104.125
The minions and the "prequel" (I don't know the english title) are not only watched and enjoyed by children - at least in Germany - but also by young adults. 198.41.242.5
Es gibt kein Prequel zu den Minions. Die Minions sind das Prequel zu "Ich, einfach unverbesserlich", also "Despicable Me".162.158.88.206 11:08, 2 August 2017 (UTC)
I can see how happy pills would be popular among the Germanic depressives. :P 162.158.75.100 20:37, 31 July 2017 (UTC)
Of the Star Wars prequels, the one which had the most of Jar Jar Binks was the first one, whose English name was Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace. And you should note that Rtanenbaum wasn't talking about the whole movie, but specifically the character of Jar Jar Binks (the clutz alien with long floppy ears). Plus, I think most adults (or "anyone over 8 years old") hated him for how he spoke, so other language adaptations might have made him better, LOL! NiceGuy1 (talk) 04:03, 1 August 2017 (UTC)
Well, at least not in Germany XD Elektrizikekswerk (talk) 06:24, 1 August 2017 (UTC)

Sorry, does anyone genuinely believe that the writers would not actually know about the eggplant? Out of dozens, nay hundreds of useless icons, this one would have been unconsciously selected by random chance? 162.158.2.160 (talk) (please sign your comments with ~~~~)

Cueball even asks, "was that on purpose?". 162.158.146.22 (talk) (please sign your comments with ~~~~)

Possible title text explanation: The idea doesn't survive in the real world because (A) people typically don't express emotion by turning their head upside down, and (B) it's rare that you run into a person who is thinking (a very jaded, cynical view of humanity popular among internet users). 172.68.54.22 14:43, 1 August 2017 (UTC)

I think probably the title text is more trying to emphasize the fact that emoji can be used in ambiguous/nuanced ways, as much or more than other methods of communication. Berets (talk) 22:33, 1 August 2017 (UTC)

Considering the last comic also happens to be about reviews, is it possible Randall made a subtle comment about the Emoji Movie in 1869? 172.68.254.108 17:43, 1 August 2017 (UTC)

Am I the only one, wanting to watch that movie now, in order to actually verify and explain the plot summary for this site, and to be able to make a first hand guess wether the egggplant joke was a joke? 162.158.89.115

You are not alone, LOL! This comic actually gave me interest in seeing the movie, I had virtually no interest before this. :) NiceGuy1 (talk) 03:03, 4 August 2017 (UTC)
Am I alone? After reading some news articles, wiki, and this comic I know I really do NOT need to see this movie. And furthermore I even don't need Emojis... ;-) --Dgbrt (talk) 12:38, 4 August 2017 (UTC)--Dgbrt (talk) 12:38, 4 August 2017 (UTC)

I'm not a big emoji user, so I never knew the eggplant was a penis-representative. But this quote: "... a sly stand-in for a penis, due to its similar shape." had me wondering. No penis I know looks like that (the emoji itself), unless the writer has a familiarity with saline-injection porn! These Are Not The Comments You Are Looking For (talk) 02:55, 6 August 2017 (UTC)

"there is a very low chance of there being a 'piracy app', as an app such as this would not be allowed on any online app store." Unless it's a piracy app store. Android allows to install apps from APKs, and jailbroken iphones -- from IPA files, I think. ShareDVI (talk) 08:14, 7 August 2017 (UTC)

Was Sausage Party 'trying to be controversial on purpose'? I didn't see it, but it just looked like a typical adult comedy to me. PvOberstein (talk) 18:14, 14 August 2017 (UTC)


You know, there was a rant by Durex there is no condom emoji. As example, Durex offered to remove useless emoji and add condom emoji instead. Joke isz they used eggplan as example of useless emoji.

I guess that's how eggplans became the meme AND the innuendo.